March 3, 2014

  • DMin with Knox Theological

    I have been involved in a D.Min program in Exegesis with Knox Theological for almost a year.   I had wanted to do this for a long time, but the right program with  a reasonable price but I had not found the right one.

    I found out that two of my friends are doing D.Min studies with Golden Gate Seminary. One is a prison chaplain in New Mexico, the other is a missionary in the field.  If they can do it, ...

    Then I found out that LOGOS software company had partnered with Knox to 'give' the software with the tuition package for the school.  Monthly payments that are reasonable and NO interest charges.  My lovely bride agreed to the program and is very supportive, time and money.

    Now I am close to finishing the class portion, this class is finishing this week, one more in-residence, and one more after that (hopefully on-line, but may need to be in-residence again).  The in-residence part is the most expensive; airfare and motel there run close to $1,000 per trip.  And then food, and tips, and ...

    Then the dissertation project.  I need to settle on a subject and title in line with my exegesis track, it will have to do with the biblical text in some form.

    My next in-residence class is about Calvin's exegesis of Job, which is more about exegesis than about Job or Calvin.  I have a book to read, and then write a book review as the opening assignment.  I had a class on Job when I was in MidAmerica Baptist Theological for my M.Div.  That was so long ago, I barely remember things Dr. Kirkpatrick taught us.

    All that to ask "Why now, why so long after seminary am I going back for an advanced degree?  What will I do different than what I am doing already? What opportunities do I expect to open up?"  Well, I am not sure about all that, but it seems to be where God is leading us!  I do love the learning process!